Skip to content

Annual Meeting

Google Form Headers (3)

We enjoyed celebrating with our membership and community at the 118th Annual Meeting on February 15th, 2022 5:30-8:00.  This special program kicked off with a highlight of the Chamber's successful 2021 as well as an update on the programs and plans set for the upcoming year.

Our theme this year is focused on crafting conscious connections. One of those important connections is between the business community and education systems in Athens-Clarke County. We will join local organizations in our work to improve third grade reading literacy as it is a critical metric in the success of our education and future workforce. We welcomed special guest Karen Vogelsang, Executive Director of ARISE2READ, as this year's keynote speaker.

The evening culminated with the awards ceremony in which individuals and organizations were recognized who have made a significant impact in our community. Congratulations to the 2021 award winners:

Educator of Excellence - Tanya Hudson, Chase Street Elementary School

ATHENA - Julita Sanders, Juvenile Offender Advocate

Spirit of Athens - Dexter Fisher, Clarke County School District

Upshaw Bentley Citizen of the Year - Steve Middlebrooks, Heyward Allen Motor Company

Small Business of the Year - Cofer's Home and Garden Showplace

Nonprofit of the Year - Athens Area Homeless Shelter

Award Recipients

Scroll To Top